CFMT’s Annual Grant Applications Now Available for Middle Tennessee Nonprofits
Application Deadline is Thursday, August 1, 2019

The Community Foundation announces its annual call for discretionary grant applications. Nonprofit organizations working to improve the well-being of residents of Middle Tennessee* are eligible and are encouraged to apply.

Grants will be awarded to nonprofits across Middle Tennessee serving a wide range of causes, including: animal welfare, arts and humanities, conservation and preservation, environment, education, employment and training, health and human services, housing, and economic and community development.


The Community Foundation awarded $2,726,800 in grants to 453 local organizations as part of the 2018 annual grantmaking process.

The Foundation’s discretionary grant recipients will be announced in late fall 2019. All tax-exempt, nonprofit s applying for discretionary grants must be profiled on The Community Foundation’s initiative

“Our grantmaking is at the core of our mission to connect generosity with need and to improve the quality of life in Middle Tennessee,” said Ellen Lehman, president of The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee. “Thanks to the generous support of our donors, we are able to fund nonprofit solutions addressing Middle Tennessee’s emerging needs and opportunities.”

Nonprofits should note that changes have been made to this year’s discretionary grant application and guidelines.

“We encourage nonprofits to carefully read these guidelines before submitting a grant request,” said Laundrea Lewis, Senior Grants Manager. “All potential applicants should contact me or Michael McDaniel to discuss your program idea or ideas.”

For more information about discretionary grants, contact The Community Foundation at 615-321-4939, toll free at 888-540-5200, or

*Nonprofit organizations in the following Tennessee counties, and profiled at, are eligible to apply for discretionary grants: Bedford, Cannon, Cheatham, Clay, Coffee, Cumberland, Davidson, DeKalb, Dickson, Fentress, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marshall, Maury, Montgomery, Moore, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Rutherford, Smith, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Van Buren, Warren, Wayne, White, Williamson and Wilson.

For a complete list of 2018 grant recipients, click here.

About The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee

The Community Foundation exists to promote and facilitate giving in the 40 counties of Middle Tennessee and beyond. It does this by accepting gifts of any size from anyone at any time and by empowering individuals, families, companies, nonprofits, and communities to respond to needs and opportunities that matter. The Community Foundation works with people who have great hearts, whether or not they have great wealth, to craft solutions that reflect their intentions and goals.